Wireless PMU Pens: How to Read the Fields Before You Buy

A wireless PMU pen is judged on four checkable fields: power format, battery options, stroke and cartridge interface. This guide shows where each field sits in the listing and what to ask when one is missing.

Biomaser U1 Wireless Permanent Makeup Machine Pen

Read the fields, not the adjectives

Whether a wireless PMU pen suits your work comes down to four things you can compare objectively: how it is powered, how many batteries the option actually includes, whether the product record states a stroke length, and which cartridge interface it accepts. Colour names and page copy do not change what you can do with it.

Reading those four gets you most of the way. The rest is what the record leaves out.

What a product record tells you

Across the PMU pen machines ATTO lists, the field structure looks like this:

What you see on the page What it establishes
Product type Mostly Wireless Pen Machine; one is a Corded Pen Machine
Battery information Sometimes in a Style option (Three batteries), sometimes in a Size option (Pen / Pen + Extra Power), sometimes both
Stroke Sometimes stated in the title (3.0mm Stroke, Adjustable Stroke); sometimes absent
Machine form unspecified One kit is typed this way; stroke has to be requested
Colour Three to six options per product; an appearance choice that does not change performance data
Cartridge interface Unstated on all ten; confirm it per order

The same table explains why spec-by-spec comparison is weak in this category. Across ten machines, only type, battery options and colour compare directly. Stroke depends on whether the title happens to mention it. The interface depends on asking.

What to do when a field is blank

If the stroke is not stated, do not fill in a number. Send ATTO the exact model and ask for the stroke value for that SKU. That is faster than inferring it from the product name.

If the interface is not stated, ask. ATTO's PMU cartridges come in universal-style and BMX screw connections, and they do not interchange. Settle which one the machine takes before you buy needles, because cartridges bought for the wrong connection cannot be used.

Browse ATTO PMU cartridges by interface and configuration

Reading one record in full

Take a wireless pen currently in the ATTO catalogue. Its record gives you this: product type Wireless Pen Machine, category PMU Machine, and four colour options — Barbie Pink, Nightfall Black, Champagne Golden, Tiffany Blue. The record does not state which cartridge interface it takes.

Beyond that, the page does not state a stroke length, a battery count or a motor type. All three have to be requested.

Batteries: count the options, not the adjectives

"Long-lasting" only means something once it becomes a number, and the catalogue happens to put it in the option values:

  • one product carries Three batteries as a Style value;
  • another offers Pen and Pen + Extra Power as Size values;
  • two others pair each colour with and without extra batteries, four pairs on one and three on the other.

So the test is unglamorous: count the batteries the option includes, and decide whether you need the extra power option. That is a purchasing decision, not a selling point.

Before you add to cart

Write power format, battery count, stroke and cartridge interface on one line, then hold that line against the work you actually do. If the listing does not state one of the four, ask before you order. Colour goes last, because it changes none of the four.

See every ATTO PMU pen machine and its options

The full selection order — task, compatibility, verifiable parameters, power and workflow, then budget and support — is laid out in the PMU machine selection guide.

The bottom line

A wireless PMU pen is distinguished by four checkable fields, not by its copy. Read them and one line of comparison is enough. Where a field is missing, ask rather than assume.